Cake Bites

So I have been ogling these cake bites for about two weeks. I tortured the boys, while they played on the Wii two weekends ago, checking out all the pictures on Bakerella’s website. So I got the chance to pick up all the fixin’s and after Monday Cooking I got a chance to bake it all up.

Let me just tell you how good these are. They taste so moist and delicious, just like a certain individually wrapped cream filled chocolate cupcake from my days of youth. The good brand, not the dry brand. Mmm… nostalgia. Give me a minute…

Alright, now on to the baking. This recipe can be a simple or as complex as you desire. Since I always like to half or shortcut new recipes, I went with simplicity – box cake mix. Oh, the horror.

So I whipped up one German chocolate cake in a 9×13 and had to let it cool. This is where I found the major flaw in this recipe. You have to wait for the cake to cool before you can even start to make the cake bites! Needless to say, I did not have a WHOLE cake to use by the time it had cooled. I love warm cake with gooey frosting just starting to drip over the edge. But let me assure you, these cake bites are totally worth the wait.

You take the cooled cake(or what is left of it) and crumble it up into a bowl. Add the frosting, about one can. I found that the ‘fluffy’ icing in the big cake was way too much. I would recommend adding half of the can to start with and then continue add a little at a time until crumble start to stick together.

Using  a small Tablespoon sized cookie/ice cream scoop, scoop out cake and place on cookie sheet.Place the cookie sheet in the freezer for about 20 minutes until the balls become firm.

After a chill in the freezer, take the cake balls out and prepare the coating. I used white and chocolate candy coating. I am not fond of white chocolate, so I used this candy coating. You can heat it on the stove with a double boiler. I must admit this is probably the way to go as you can keep the coating warm and runny. For this first try I microwaved the candy coating as per the instructions on the package. Place the squares in a microwave safe bowl and microwave in 30 second intervals, stirring between each interval until the coating is melted and smooth.

Now the messy(fun) part. Dip each cake ball in the candy coating, covering the entire ball. There doesn’t seem to be a science to this. Its is kind of a disaster. Just close your eyes and pray. NO wait, don’t close your eyes! But you do need to pray.

Some of my first cake bites came out kinda lumpy and look a little scraggly. Try to get the balls in and out of the coating quickly. As the warm coating warms up the balls, it can pull off little crumbs into the coating. Also the coolness of the cake start to cool the coating and it can become too thick very fast. This is why I would suggest using the double boiler, or else you will be reheating the coating multiple times

Place the coated cake bites on wax paper as you coat them. Once all the bites are coated, return them to the freezer to set the coating.

I tried to make some shapes with little luck. However, after playing around with them this time, I am sure next time I might actually be able to form something that might resemble a figure that is cute. Next time…

But thank you to Bakerella for this awesome concoction that taste so much like my childhood. Some of the prettier cake bites made their way to an estate sale for the hungry workers and I have already been asked for the directions on how to make these.

Tell me what you think

