Easy Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas Casserole

When I say easy, I really mean easy. Super easy!

So easy that it is embarrassing.

So easy that I don’t even have a recipe.

So easy that I don’t even roll the enchiladas. I layer them.

The ingredient list for a 9×13 casserole dish:

2 boneless, skinless chicken breast, cubed
salt and pepper
sprinkle of chili powder
4 cups of cheese
1 package of corn tortillas
1 can enchilada sauce
1 can green chilies or 1 can of ro-tel, optional

I say the chilies or ro-tel is optional because I didn’t have any when I made it. Its ok either way.

To start, heat a skillet over medium-high heat and cube up your chicken. Season your chicken with salt and pepper and chili powder and brown chicken in skillet. I would probably add some onion into the pan after the chicken had cooked for a few minutes. That is if I didn’t have a picky eater.

Yum, chicken!

While your chicken is cooking up, get to work on grating a lot of cheese. I used a mixture of colby/jack and cheddar.

That is about all the”‘cooking” you need to do. Preheat your oven to 350* and  let’s start assembling.

Spoon into the bottom of your dish some of the enchilada sauce. This picture looks kind of weird, but it is just 2 spoonfuls of enchilada sauce.


Place a single layer of tortilla on top of the sauce. This is a small casserole that I was making for B to take with him for work. I made this one for him and a square one for the rest of the recipe.

This is how I manage to cover the square dish. I cut the tortillas in quarters and halves, puzzle pieced them together to form one single layer.

Put some more sauce down. I would also add some of the ro-tel now, if I had had it. Sprinkle on some of the chicken. After this layer I started breaking up the chicken to even smaller pieces. I don’t have a picture of it because my hands where all chicken covered and messy.

Cover your chicken with cheese. Then top with a single layer of tortilla, then sauce, then chicken, then cheese.

Keep going. Tortilla, sauce, ro-tel, chicken, cheese, tortilla, sauce, ro-tel, chicken, cheese……..

I always like to finish with just tortilla and cheese. This makes a nice crispy top and looks pretty.

Now pop this bad boy into the oven for about 20-25 minutes. The chicken should already be cooked, so you just want to melt the cheese and get everything hot.

I don’t have a picture of it cooked because the camera battery died. But it looked really good.

Tell me what you think

