Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes

I was feeling pretty cranky from hunger Monday night. I tried making one of those personal size frozen lasagnas. It was horrible. So after having to wait on hour for it to bake and then letting it cool, I tried one bite and threw it out. So, of course, it was time for some easy, quick, simple, stick to your ribs, delicious food.

Enter the Oatmeal Pancake.


Super filling, super easy, and tasty. These pancakes taste very similar to an oatmeal cookie. I love these and they seem to be the only pancakes I make lately.

The line up for two servings includes:
3/4 cup quick oats
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon – I haven’t really measured but I just sprinkle in some
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
1 – 2 Tablespoons brown sugar
1 egg
2 Tablespoons butter, melted
1/4 teaspoon vanilla(optional)

To start, measure out oats and pour over the milk. You have to decide right not if you want thick pancakes or if you want thinner pancakes. If you like your pancakes thin – skip ahead. If you like your pancakes thick, microwave the milk and oats for 30-60 second. You can just let the milk and oats sit for about 15 minutes but I don’t like waiting. And you shouldn’t either, you need these pancakes in you mouth ASAP.

To the milk and oats, add the flour, baking soda, salt, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Whisk this all together.

Add your egg and melted butter. If you microwaved you oats be sure that the mixture is not too hot before you add your egg. Usually by the time you have mixed in all the dry ingredients, the oat have cooled enough that they won’t cook the egg in the batter. No one wants chunks of scrambled eggs in their pancakes. Gross!!

Sometimes I add a splash of vanilla. Just a splash and the pancakes really taste like an oatmeal cookie.

If you are feeling like you need a ‘healthy’ breakfast… I love adding diced apples to the batter. Make sure you do a pretty small dice, about the size of the thickness of a pancake. These pancakes with apples because it reminds me of my favorite Applesauce Oatmeal Cookies. There is a little bit of tartness to the apple and they add a great layer of flavor.

Heat up you nonstick skillet or griddle over a medium/medium-high heat. If you are feeling naughty, you might brush a little butter on the skillet before pouring on the batter. Whatever makes you smile. Now, cook up your pancakes until they are golden brown and little bubbles begin to break through the surface of pancake, then flip and cook until the second side is golden brown. This recipe makes just enough for two people, unless you are super hungry. I have tried with all my heart and never been able to finish a whole batch by myself.

I generally get two pancakes if I let the batter get thick and only able to eat one myself. If I hurry through and make thin pancakes, I can get four pancakes Sometimes have to add a little more milk before I cook up the last two pancakes because the batter gets thick the longer you let it sit.

Such a good thing. Just what I needed after tasting disappointing lasagna.

Enjoy!

Tell me what you think

