Bacon Broccoli Quiche

Because Easter is a comin’ and we needed extra eggs to decorate at the girls egg decorating party/lunch, I made quiche!!

I love quiche. I rarely get a chance to make it because B does not like it. I have tried my hardest to nudge him into loving such an amazing dish. I have even tried to trick him by calling quiche breakfast pie, breakfast tarte and egg pie. I have to admit that egg pie does not sound very appetizing … at all. I fully regret calling it egg pie. I am sorry.

B tried but he does not like quiche and I have come to accept it. So I was super excited to get to indulge with “The Ladies Who Lunch” in a delicate, light and delicious quiche. Yum. And it is easy to make.

Plus I have tweaked this recipe to use MILK instead of CREAM!!! Woohooo for saving a ton of calories.

If you have time restraints and can’t make the crust yourself, ready-made crusts are fine. I usually make my own pie crusts and have gotten good at whipping one together rather quickly the night before I bake and letting it chill overnight in the fridge.

Quiche Crust

1 cup all purpose flour, sifted
1 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup butter, cold, cubed
3-4 Tablespoons milk

Cubed butter. Beautiful!

Sift the flour and salt into a bowl.

Add the butter cubes.

Before “cutting in butter”. Gently squeeze butter into the flour with your finger tips until the mixture has a sand like texture.

After cutting in the butter. You can still see pea sized chunks of butter but the flour is damp and holds together when pinched.

Add a few tablespoons of milk. I start with about two Tablespoons.

This is how the crust dough should look once mixed.

Form the dough into a disk and wrap in plastic. Stash this in the fridge for at least an hour or up to two days.

Remove dough from fridge and place between two layers of wax paper and roll out to the size of your pie dish.

Transfer dough into the pie dish.

Peel back the wax paper and fold edges under where they hang over the rim of the dish.

History Lesson courtesy of WikiPedia – Quiche Lorraine originated in the northern part of France and traditionally was baked in a cast iron pan. Originally, quiche Lorraine included cubed bacon and later, cheese – generally Gruyère or a Swiss cheese. Lesson over!

I am very much an all-American girl and love a nice sharp cheddar, so that is what I use.

But feel free to use whatever you like or no cheese at all.

Also feel free to add a few dashes of hot sauce in place of the nutmeg , if you like that sort of thing. It adds a hint of something extra

Quiche “Lorraine”
6-8 slices bacon, cooked, crumbled
1 1/2 cups broccoli florets
1 cup shredded cheese
4 large eggs
1 1/2 cups milk – I use 2%
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon sugar
pinch of nutmeg

Fry the bacon.

Drain the bacon and allow to cool until able to handle. Crumble bacon into pieces.

Place the bacon, broccoli and cheese in the bottom of the pie crust. This time I used fresh broccoli, but I usually use the frozen stuff. There is a difference in the texture. The frozen broccoli cooks up more tender and soft. While the fresh broccoli creates a more interesting contrast against the silky texture of the egg. It is a personal choice and I like it both ways. No wrong move here, both are great.

Whisk together the eggs, milk, salt, sugar and nutmeg. Pour the egg mixture over the bacon, cheese and broccoli.

Now, I am not exactly sure why there is a teaspoon of sugar in the egg mix but it was in the recipe I received years ago and through all the changes to the recipe I have made, I never took it out and it is now just the thing I do out of tradition.

Bake the quiche at 425* for 15 minutes and then reduce the temperature to 300* and bake an additional 30 minutes.

Tell me what you think

