Sopapillas

Oh, goodness… these are so bad… in an amazing way.

Fried pastry covered in sugar and honey!!

I love sopapillas. But I have to make them at home. If I get a chance to eat at a good Mexican restaurant, by dessert time I am too stuffed to order a sopapilla.

Now I did a tiny bit of research on sopapillas the other day before I made them. Funny things is that some people fill their sopapillas with a savory filling, much like the ingredients you would put in a taco. Much like a description of an empanada. So today I will just stick with the sweet dessert sopapilla. I’ll look into making empanada-like sopapillas another day.

Here is how to make the sweet stuff:

You need…
2 cups flour – sifted
1 Tablespoon sugar
1/2 Tablespoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon fine salt
2 Tablespoons shortening
1/2 cup water – more or less

frying oil
powdered sugar
honey

Start by sifting together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.

Cut in the shortening until mixture has a crumbly texture.

Slowly stir in water until mixture holds together. Knead 10-15 times until smooth. Let rest 20 minutes.

Fill pan with about 1 1/2 inches of oil, place over medium heat and let come up to temperature. I don’t know the exact temperature the oil should be but probably around 350*.

Roll out the dough pretty thin. Much thinner than cookies. Very, very thin! Cut to shape. I like doing 3 inch triangles or squares.

Fry sopapillas a couple at a time.

Remove from pan and let drain on paper.

Serve while still hot, dusted with powdered sugar and drizzled with honey.

Tell me what you think

