Homemade Buttery Sugar Cookies

These roll-out cookies are extremely soft and moist with the substitution of shortening. They are still butter and firm. Great for cookie cutters and decorations but have a great mouth feel and texture.

Now I scoured the interwebs to find a soft sugar cookie recipe. I found quite a few variations. But the whole time in the back of my mind I was thinking about the texture of my snickerdoodles. (Tangent Warning) My snickerdoodles are delicious, don’t misunderstand, but the flavor of the dough by itself is not what I wanted in a stand alone cookie. If I were a better decorator and if I was more inclined to spend extra time to frost cookies the other day, I would have used by snickerdoodle dough. I  probably will attempt this endeavor soon.

But for now, I am ecstatic with the compilation of the web recipes I canoodled(new term – meaning to mix) together.

Ingredients:
1 cup unsalted butter, room temp
1/4 cup shortening
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
3 1/2 cups flour, separated
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon fine salt

creaming butter and sugarCream together the butter, shortening and sugar until very pale, light and fluffy.

Add eggs on at a time, incorporating between additions. Add the vanilla and stir to combine.

sugar cookie doughStir together 3 cups of flour, baking powder and salt. I use a one cup measuring cup and fill with flour then carefully stir in the baking powder and salt before I add to the butter/sugar mixture. This is done to avoid salt or baking powder from clumping together and ending up in one cookie. I have had this happen and it is quite an unpleasant taste. Then add in the other two cups of flour and mix it all into the dough.

Chill the dough for a good half hour.

Preheat the oven to 350* and prepare a rolling surface liberally with the remaining 1/2 cup of flour. While rolling try to refrain from using much more flour. Roll out dough thick, about a 1/4 of an inch. The thicker the cookie, the softer it will be. If you like crispy cookies, go ahead and roll it out as thin as 1/8 of an inch.

sugar cookie cowboy hats and bootsMy sister picked me up some awesome cowboy hat and boot cookie cutters from the PDub book signing at Blue Willow Bookshop in Houston a couple of weekends ago. They are crazy adorable! sugar cookie cowboy bootsLook at those little spurs!! Just precious. So I was really itching to make some sugar cookies with the excuse of using the cookie cutters.

Cut out your cookies and place on a baking mat lined cookie sheet. I hope you have discovered silicone baking mats. They make your baking experiences stress-free and dreamy.

Pop the cookies into the oven for about 8 minutes. Check your cookies early if you rolled them thin. And keep an eye on them because they go from perfect to overbaked really quickly.

Just Awwwww!!! Just a hint of golden color around the edges.

cowboy hat sugar cookies

As you can see, some of the tips of the hats got a little dark. One of the original recipes called for an oven temp of 400*. This is way too high!

Cool cookies on cooling racks or paper towels. Once completely cooled, you can frost and decorate if you are so adept. Maybe next time, for now I’m just going to eat these plain. They are that scrumptious.

Tell me what you think

