Carrot Cake Sandwiches

My mom has a thing about buying to much of random items. Last summer everyone in the family got 3 gallon Ziploc bags of blanched peaches for the freezer. That is 3 gallons of peaches – FOR EVERYONE!!! It can get little ridiculous sometimes but it always great to receive free food.

So she did it again, but this time with carrots. I visited my sister this weekend and my mom had given her a ton of carrots. Having all these carrots, my sister wanted me to get to work making something with as many carrots as possible.

I first tried oven carrot fries. They didn’t look too good and most of them burned. The ones that didn’t, tasted delicious and kinda sweet like sweet potatoes. I am going to have to try them again, giving them a little more attention instead of just shoving them into the oven and forgetting about them. I have a bad track record with oven fries. I can never get a crispy texture, just soft and floppy.

In the meantime, I was cooking up a plan. We really wanted carrot cake. My favorite recipe calls for applesauce and weighing out ingredients but I didn’t bring my scale nor did we have applesauce. But I was looking through my recipes and of course stopped on my favorite Italian Wedding Cake recipe that features pineapple. It is so delicious and starred at my 24th birthday in the shape of a dolphin fish(don’t ask, I was into off shore fishing and it was cute).

Italian Wedding Cake in fish form

Because I love this Italian Wedding Cake, I decided to make a carrot version. I had high hopes and was not disappointed. It was a WIN WIN, used up some carrots and made an awesome dessert!! Not to mention I got to cook in my sister’s kitchen that is in the middle of a remodel but is super bright and I got to use my sister’s camera with a 35mm fixed lens. I had so much fun!

Now for the cake…

___________________________________________________________
Ingredients

1/4 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
3 eggs, separated
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup flour, sifted
1 cup grated carrots
1/2 cup chopped nuts(optional) – I would have used nuts if I had them

____________________________________________________________

Start by preheating the oven to 350*.

milk, baking soda and saltPour milk into a small bowl and add the baking soda and salt. Set aside

butter and sugarCream together butter and sugar on high-speed with an electric mixer until light and fluffy.

Add egg yolksAdd 3 egg YOLKS to the creamed butter and sugar. Beat to combine.

Mmmm cinnamon!!Mix the cinnamon into the butter/egg mixture.

Add 1/2 flour

Sift in 1/2 of the flour and combine using lowest speed on mixer, just until flour is incorporated. Do not over mix!

add milkIncorporate the milk mixture from earlier.

last of the flourSift in the rest of the flour and mix to combine.

Grate about 1 cup of carrots on a paper towel.

squeeze carrotsSqueeze excess juice from the carrots. Here I wrapped them in a couple of layers of paper towels. Used both hands to support the structural integrity of the paper towels so they do not split. They are after all called PAPER towels for a reason.

add the carrotsAdd the carrots to the batter and stir in.

whip those egg whitesIn a separate bowl, whip 3 egg whites to stiff peaks.

stiff peaksStiff peaks!!

fold in egg whitesAdd egg whites to batter in three batches, gently folding in carefully as to not deflate and lose all the air that took so long to get into the eggs.

Spread batter into a greased and floured sheet pan. Smooth out and bake for 18-21 minutes. – This batter is a half recipe of a three layer 8 inch round cake. I suppose it would fill one 9 inch round cake pan nicely or possibly a 8 or 9 inch square. In this case, start checking the cake after 25-28 minutes of baking, baking until a toothpick comes out clean.

Because this post is getting so long, I’m going to stop here. I’ll show you how I made my filling next time. The cake is so good that you don’t really need a frosting but feel free to use the common cream cheese frosting if you like. I tend to like my cake sans frosting most of the time. I think quite often frosting overpowers a cake or cupcake.

One response to “Carrot Cake Sandwiches

  1. Pingback: Carrot Cake Sandwiches – part 2 | Hopefully Homemade

Tell me what you think

