Apple Pie Bites

Soft crust, tart apples, and sweet drizzle topping. These did not turn out anything like I was expecting. It was a total accident. A yummy accident. I used the wrong size pan, I used the wrong dough for the crust I was hoping to make. I messed up but luckily, as with most things I make, they were still delicious, even if I was expecting a crunchier, more portable snack.

____________________________________________________________
Ingredients

1/2 cup butter, cold, cubed
1/2 cup shortening, frozen
1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup oats
1 teaspoon fine salt
up to 1/2 cup ice water
3 baking apples
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 Tablespoon cornstarch

topping:
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup powdered sugar
1-2 Tablespoons milk – just enough to create a good drizzling consistency
___________________________________________________________________________

oat and flour

Stir together oat, flour and sugar.

butter and shortening

Add butter and shortening and squish between your fingers until the mixture is like damp sand. Add just enough ice water for mixture to pull together.

crust

Divide dough in half and form into the bottom of baking dish(7×9 inch). I used plastic wrap under the first half of dough so I could pull it out easily. Then I placed the second half of the dough into the dish for the bottom crust. Chill both the top and bottom crust at least 1 hour or about 20 minutes in the freezer.

Preheat the oven to 350*.

Apples

Mmmmm.... apples

I used three different types of apples; a Fuji, a Granny Smith and a Gala. I always make my apple pies with at least two different types of apples because it keeps the textures interesting.

Peel, quarter and dice apples.

Place apples in a bowl with the brown sugar. Toss the apples around in the sugar and then set them aside. Leave them alone for about 20-30 minutes.

Try really hard to resist snacking on the sweet, tart, sugar cover apples. After a while, the apples will begin to give up their juices.

Pop the chilled bottom crust into the oven and let it bake about 15 minutes. Just enough so that the juicy apples will not make it soggy.

Dump the apples into a pot and heat on medium high. Whisk the corn starch into the juices and pour on top of the apples. Once the cornstarch reaches the right temperature it will thicken and coat the apples in a sweet syrup of happiness. Try to resist eating this too!

Pour the apples on top of the pre-baked crust. I sprinkled on about 1/2 teaspoon more of cornstarch as an insurance policy but it really isn’t needed. I have made soupy pies before so I always err on the side of caution.

Top the apples with the other crust that has been waiting in to fridge and cut some steam vents.

Bake for 30-45 minutes.

Whisk together the cinnamon, powdered sugar and vanilla. Slowly add milk until the icing reaches a fluid, runny consistency.

Once baked and slightly cooled, drizzle the icing over the top and cut into squares.

I didn’t take final pictures of these plated because I was trying for something very different. I wasn’t going to even share these with anyone until I perfected the recipes but I felt like I have been neglecting the blog. My new camera is ordered and on its way. But I didn’t want to wait a whole week to get something posted.

Tell me what you think

