Eclair Cake

Creamy custard between layers of soft grahams and covered with chocolate, this “cake” is very reminiscent of the French eclair pastry.  The name eclair comes from the french word for lightning.  Which is fitting because this dessert comes together in a flash. While you do need to wait overnight before serving, you will be in and out of the kitchen in about 10 minutes.

About This Recipe:

I found this recipe in a cookbook put out by my elementary school as a fundraiser. Everyone was asked to submit favorite recipes. So the recipes are the best of the best from the early ’90s. This eclair cake recipe was submitted by my second grade teacher, who also was my sister’s second grade teacher.

______________________________________________________________
Ingredients

1 package graham crackers
2 small boxes French Vanilla instant pudding
1 large tub whipped topping
1 can chocolate frosting(chocolate chips of melted chocolate can be used)
3 cup milk
_______________________________________________________________________

 In a large bowl, whisk together milk and pudding.

Beat mixture until pudding is thick and set.

Gently fold in the whipped topping.

Line the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking dish with a single layer of graham crackers. (As always I halved the recipe so my dish will look smaller than described.)

Pour in one half of the pudding mixture and smooth out.

Cover with another single layer of grahams and then the other half of the pudding.

Smooth the pudding out.

Place a final layer of graham crackers and spread on the frosting.

Carefully smooth out the frosting. This is the trickiest part. Cover the dish and place it in the fridge overnight. Serves 10-12 people.

That is the recipe the way it was written. I always half a new recipe in case of failure. And while this recipe is delicious, I was overwhelmed by the sweetness of the frosting. I have a feeling it was the brand of frosting I used. I have been known to eat chocolate frosting out of the can so I know other frostings are less than overly sweet. I am also glad I halved this recipe because while it was devoured in about two days, it would have been way too much to try to eat more than we did.

I made the second half a week later. This time I saved a few scoops of the pudding mixture and topped the final layer of graham crackers with the reserved pudding and chocolate chips. I love the interest the chocolate chips gave to the cake. I also think that a drizzle of melted chocolate(the one with the name of a bird that rhymes with love) would be perfect on the top of this.

This is the perfect summer dessert. It is cold and creamy, but has a light feel from the soft graham crackers and the fluffy whipped topping that is mixed it.

Source:
BCE’s Treasured Recipes Cookbook from Mrs. Caskey
Tell me what you think

