Sweet Potato/Potato Gratin

The holidays are upon us. I just ordered my sister’s Christmas present today and Thanksgiving is tomorrow. Today I have been cooking up a storm in the kitchen. I am in charge of all the carb heavy dishes and I am loving it. When people ask what my favorite food is my answer is CARBS. Anything from rolls to pasta, potatoes, pancakes, breads, cakes, and rice. I gotta have my carbs and I try to balance it all out with salads and fish. I moderate my carbs but I love them more than chocolate.

So I made so buttery rolls that still need perfecting(this happens when you make up your own recipes) and an old favorite adapted from The Mayo Clinic’s Two Potato Gratin.

______________________________________________________

Ingredients

2 baking potatoes
1 sweet potato
1 Tablespoon butter
1 Tablespoon flour
1 1/2 cups milk
pinch of dry minced garlic
pinch of cinnamon
1-2 handfuls of grated cheese(variety of your choosing)
salt
______________________________________________________

Preheat oven to 425*.

Make a roux: Melt the butter in a small sauce pan and add the flour. Cook over medium low heat until it starts to smell nutty, whisking often so the flour does not burn.

Slowly add the milk while whisking. Add the garlic and the cinnamon. I know this sounds like a disastrous flavor combo but both the garlic and cinnamon are such small amounts and the result is subtle hints of flavor in the final dish.

Let the milk mixture just kinda hang out on low heat until you need it.

Peel and slice both the potatoes and the sweet potato into approximately 1/8 inch thick disks. This is not too terribly important to be accurate but try to get everything uniformly the same thickness.

Lay half of the potato, half of the sweet potato into the bottom of a greased baking dish and sprinkle with about half of the salt. Mine dish is probably about an 8 inch square baker. Last year, when we had a full house for the holidays, I doubled the recipe and used a 9×13 inch baking dish.

Pour half of the milk mixture on top.

Sprinkle on some cheese.

Repeat the layers with the remaining potato, sweet potato, salt, milk and cheese.

Bake for 40-45 minutes.

Top cheese on top is golden and the whole kitchen will smell like pizza. I don’t know why it makes the kitchen smell like pizza but it does or at least it did today.

Maybe I was just craving pizza, you know, my love affair with carbs.

You can freeze this gratin and reheat for service that day of, as I will be doing for Thanksgiving or you can dig in immediately

Tell me what you think

