The Dog Sofa: Seat

Its time to get back to some content!!

So I feel guilty. If you have noticed my site has undergone some changes over the past week or so. And there have even been some big changes that you can’t see. And there are changes planned for the future. And this past week I was completely engrossed in a 4-day webinar about making my blog infinitely better.

The workshop I was fortunate enough to have enjoyed was taught by Justin Seeley, web guru and self-proclaimed designer, trainer, geek. And trust me he is all of those things and probably a lot more. The workshop was titled WordPress for Photographers and offered by creativeLIVE. If you are starting out blogging or want to revamp your site or brand, you have to check it out. The last day was actually a separate course about Designing for the Social Web, which was so jam-packed with useful information that I don’t think I took notes fast enough.

The whole experience had my attention so focused on design that I almost forgot that I needed to get back to my content. So without further delay here are the next steps on the dog sofa:

Get yourself some support. I used tow strapping. I don’t know how I ended up using this… oh wait, yes I do. I was looking for upholstery springs and could only find two places that looked legit on the web and they were EXPENSIVE and wholesale quantities. Remember this is a couch for a DOG. I love my little guy but I wasn’t going to drop over 100 bucks for more spring than I could use if I made all the upholstered furniture in my whole house.

Note about tow straps: My tow strap was not pre-stretched. You might want to stretch it before you cut it up. After me sitting on it a few times it did begin to sag just a bit. This also got me thinking, “They don’t test these things!!”

Cut off pieces the right length to stretch from the underside of the front crossbar to the underside of the rear crossbar.

Use fire(or if you are cautious, a hot plate, iron, or soldering iron) to sear the ends to keep the strapping from fraying. I am just guessing that an iron and the others would work but have not tested them and take no responsibility for your melting technique!

Mark the crossbars to evenly space the amount of straps you have cut.

Staple one end of the strapping to the front crossbar. Use a few staples for good measure.

Pull and stretch and staple the strapping to the rear crossbar. Use a helper! It would have been much easier that way.

In the same manner that the strapping is attached, attach a double thickness of fabric.

Here is the view from the bottom.

This is how the finished seat support will look for the dog sofa.

And Theo enjoying the sofa. I added his cushion and a piece of fabric(so he wouldn’t fall out of the side).

Next on the dog sofa agenda is padding.

Links: the framethe wrapping

5 responses to “The Dog Sofa: Seat

  1. Pingback: Dog Sofa: The Fluffiness | HopefullyHomade

  2. Pingback: Its been a long weekend | HopefullyHomade

  3. Pingback: The Dog Sofa: The Frame | HopefullyHomade

  4. Pingback: Its been a long weekend

Tell me what you think

