Croque Monsieur/Madame

We were watching Its Complicated, I don’t know why. But the point is that during Meryl Streep’s character’s date with Steve Martin’s character she makes Croque Monsieur for dinner. I didn’t hear what she called it because I was only half watching. But when I saw it as I glanced up, I had to rewind and find out what she had called it. Then I researched it. Turns out that it is a glorified ham and cheese with a béchamel sauce. I was enamored. I had to make it.

Turns out there are two main varieties: Croque Monsieur, without eggs and Croque Madame, with eggs. I made both because I had to try both. I have no will power. I should feel ashamed but I don’t.

_______________________________________________________

Ingredients

6 slices bread
9 slices ham
4-6 oz Gruyère cheese, sliced
2 Tablespoons butter
2 Tablespoons flour
1 1/2 cups milk
1/4 cup Parmesan
salt and pepper
6 eggs(optional)
_______________________________________________________

Preheat oven to 400°.

On a foil lined baking sheet, lay out 6 slices of bread. Top each with a slice and a half of ham and a couple of slices of Gruyère cheese.

Bake these ham and cheese topped bread for 5-10 minutes until cheese is melted and the bread is toasted.

In the meantime, make a roux with the butter and flour.

Slowly add the milk to the roux.

Add the Parmesan cheese and any remaining Gruyère. Stir the cheese in until it has melted and incorporated into the milk. Season with salt to taste.

Let the milk and cheese mixture sit over low heat to thicken.

In a nonstick pan, fry the eggs.

When the ham and cheese comes out of the oven…

top with the egg.

On top of the egg, ham, and cheese, spoon on the cheese sauce.

Return to the oven and bake until the cheese sauce gets a browned. You could throw this under the broiler to speed things up.

Serve hot.

One response to “Croque Monsieur/Madame

  1. I want to try this soon, maybe tonight. It is cold here in St. John’s and this looks good. Denise

Tell me what you think

